Who's Who at WONN

Jim's Co-Workers

Willie Anderson, Sr.
John Bond
Brian Bruchey
Mary Cameron
Nancy Cattarius
Connosseur of the Obscure
Larry Cox
Bob Crews
Dance the Night Away
Dave Day
Gary Dennis
Loris Duncan
Tim Galloway
Dick Goleno
Robert Hall
Angie Harrell
Jim Hendrick
Steve Howard
Ed Kirkland
Mel Letanosky
Terry Lombardi
Enrique Lopez
Jim Maloy
Eric Michaels
Tunie Moss
Andrea Oliver
Arthur Rowbotham
Bonnie Rowbotham
Tom Shaw
Debbie Tennick (Hogan)
Renee Weems
Woody Wooden
Reba Zoellner

Jim Greenfield

Jim attended Butler University in Indianapolis, IN where he studied radio communications. During the Korean War, he served in the Army as a big-band deejay for Armed Forces Radio. After the war, he and his wife moved to Winter Haven, FL.

His Polk County radio career began in news at WSIR in 1954. Because he seemed to know everyone and everything that went on in the town, he picked up the moniker, “Mr. Winter Haven.”

In the 1960’s and 1970’s the Indiana native worked at other stations in the Winter Haven area, including 97.5 WHFL (now WPCV), Cypress Gardens’ WGTO, and WVFM in Lakeland. He returned to Winter Haven and WSIR in 1986, followed by five years at WHNR across town.

In 1995 Jim became a reporter for WONN in Lakeland, leaving in 2005 to take the position of Media Coordinator for the City of Winter Haven. Part of his job there included producing the radio program “Winter Haven Focus” that ran on several area stations.

He was busy outside his radio obligations, as well. He was a past president of the Winter Haven Lions Club, past member of the Board of Directors of the Dick Pope Chapter of the Florida Public Relations Association, and a recipient of its President’s Award. In 1977-1978, he was named Agribusiness Broadcaster of the Year by the Agribusiness Institute of Florida.

Jim passed away August 22, 2017 at the age of 88.

Station History

1995 - 2005 WONN (News)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2023 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.