Other Stations - Other Polk County Stations - Who's Who - Details

WBAR 's Co-Workers

WLVF AM & FM - A History
WQXM - A History
WXEZ - A History
WCZE - A History
WXPQ - A History
WWRZ - A History
WHGS - A History
WSIR - A History
WTWB - A History
WINT AM & FM - A History
WWBF - A History
WZNG - A History
WPUL - A History
WYXY - A History
WIPC - A History
WXKL - A History
WHFL - A History
WHAN - A History
WFXI - A History
WTHN - A History
WHNR - A History
Arch Abernethy
George Allen
CJ Allen-Hall
Bill Andrews
Tom Anthony
Daisy Mae & Old Brother Charlie Arnett
Doug Baker
Nellie Barber
Ken Barfield
Rick Beckett
Wes Belisle
Frank Berry
Chuck Bishop
Dick Boyce
Leroy Bradley
Al Brady
Lynne Breidenbach
Ronny Brown
Dave & Diane Buerger
Al Cash
Nancy Cattarius
Ed Cole
Peggy Cook
Ken Copper
Larry Cox
Orden Craig
Jeff Crews
Spencer Danes
Bill Davis
Dave Day
Scott Dennis
James-Paul Dice
Charlie Edwards
Rick Elmhorst
Angelo Fazzari
Larry Flegle
Florida Calling
Florida Citrus Mutual Calling
Barry Foster
John Gilman
Tom Graddy
Jim Greenfield
Frankie Grover
Craig Harper
Bob Helmick
Mike Helminski
Haywood Henson
Glen Hill
Dan Hogan
Scott Hooker
Steve Howard
John Hoy
Cactus Ken
Max Kimbrel
Don Lamerson
Terry Lombardi
Kevin MacKenzie
Seth Mela
Andy Meyer
Doug Montgomery
Tom Moore
Brad Moore
Pat Morgan
Judy Fay Morts
John Newman
BJ Nielsen
Dan O'Day
Gail O'Doski
Hank O'Neil
Bruce Parker
Joe Penny
Robert Pickering
Bob Prescott
Norman Protsman
Donna Renfroe
Jay Rich
Larry Rollins
Steve Samet
Drew Scott
Lloyd Scott, Jr.
Jim Sebesta
Don Seehafer
Ron Seggi
Jack Shaw
Allen Shaw
Dick Shiflett
Ken Shroyer
Bill Sigler
Arnold Silvert
Jim Sweeney
Jeff Thornburg
Tom Thornburg
Tony Verity
WBF Shopper
Jacki West
Buck Williams
Dave Wright
Lindsey Yates
Reba Zoellner

WBAR - A History

WBAR-AM 1460 Bartow – Nicknamed Wee-bar, Bartow’s first radio station, WBAR-AM, signed on the air in 1953 as a one kilowatt daytimer owned by Radio Station WBAR, Inc. (W.A. Wynne, president). Transmitter site and studios were located on North Maple Avenue in Bartow. Like most small-town stations at that time, programming was the block/variety type, even as late as the 1960’s when the schedule included gospel and country at sign on, easy listening during the middle of the day, and rock ‘n’ roll after school until sign off.

In 1962 WBAR was sold to WBAR, Inc. (James E. Yarbrough, president). Yarbrough was chief engineer for WDBO-TV in Orlando. Other owners through the years were Polk County Broadcasters, Inc. in 1972 (Mike Freeland, president), D-Bar Radio, Inc. in 1977 (H.R. Cook, president), Jim and Ray Livesey, and WBAR Broadcasting Co., Inc. in 1994 (Harvey and Judy Fay Morts, who also doubled as on-air personalities “Harvey Gene” and “Sunflower.”

Although it played other types of music at times over the years, WBAR is remembered primarily as a country music station which, by the early to mid 90’s, had steered its format toward classic country and bluegrass (Where the Legends Live On). In 1996 it affiliated with the CBS network, and then CNN in 2001. It was named the AM Radio Station of the Year by the Orange Blossom Country Music Association in 2002, the same year “Sunflower” was named the AM Radio Air Personality of the Year.

In late 2003, the Morts sold WBAR to Florida Broadcasting Media LLC of Miami. The following year, the station’s calls changed briefly to WRMX, then to WQXM, with programming in Spanish.

Other names in WBAR history history include Ted Leeper (GM-1955), Chuck Dent (PD-1955), Bill Alford (chief engineer-1955), Bill Hancock (GM), Ken Shroyer (PD), John Burgreen (GM/sales manager), Margaret Burgreen, Edward St. Claire (chief engineer), Bob Coe, Dick Pipes, Morton C. Cook (station/sales manager), Thomas Osborne (PD), Al Duncan (chief engineer), Nick Evers (GM/sales manager), Joe Gale, Robert Shikenjanski (chief engineer), Ken Morrison (sales manager), John Buning (GM/sales manager), Dick Palmer (sales manager), Sammy Lindsey (sales), Larry Love, Ginger Lynn Boulware (sales), Gail O’Doski (GM), Lindsey Yates, Eloise Buning, Joe Peters, Tommy Walker (news), Joe Wells (Engineering), Rusty Wells, Tommy Williams, Shirley Carroll, Roger Carroll, Jim Miles (GM/sales manager), Mike Michaels (PD), Terry Parker, Larry Hall, Roy Beymer (chief engineer), Dick Goleno (PD), Frank Berry (chief engineer), Doug Baker, Bob Wayne (1962), Bob Ski (1962), Henry Jay (Henry Zambrano, PD-1974), Tim Banks, Brenda Melech, Ed Cole (chief engineer), Reba Zoellner (sales), Craig Meyer, Tom Anthony, Richard Todd, Terry Lombardi (mornings), Jean Ladd (station manager), and Elmer White (GM).

Station History

1953 - 2004 Other Polk County Stations (History)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2023 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.