Other Stations - Other Polk County Stations - Who's Who - Details

WPUL 's Co-Workers

WXEZ - A History
WHAN - A History
WFXI - A History
WTHN - A History
WSIR - A History
WTWB - A History
WINT AM & FM - A History
WWBF - A History
WZNG - A History
WYXY - A History
WIPC - A History
WBAR - A History
WXKL - A History
WHFL - A History
Arch Abernethy
Bill Andrews
Tom Anthony
Doug Baker
Nellie Barber
Ken Barfield
Rick Beckett
Wes Belisle
Frank Berry
Chuck Bishop
Dick Boyce
Leroy Bradley
Al Brady
Ronny Brown
Dave & Diane Buerger
Nancy Cattarius
Ed Cole
Ken Copper
Larry Cox
Orden Craig
Spencer Danes
Dave Day
Scott Dennis
Rick Elmhorst
Florida Citrus Mutual Calling
Barry Foster
Tom Graddy
Jim Greenfield
Craig Harper
Bob Helmick
Mike Helminski
Haywood Henson
Dan Hogan
Steve Howard
Brad Moore
John Newman
Dan O'Day
Bruce Parker
Joe Penny
Norman Protsman
Larry Rollins
Lloyd Scott, Jr.
Bill Sigler
Tom Thornburg
WBF Shopper
Jacki West
Buck Williams
Dave Wright
Reba Zoellner

WPUL - A History

WPUL-AM 1130 Bartow – In September 1969 the FCC granted Trans-Florida Radio, Inc. (Lloyd A. Scott, Sr., president) a license to operate radio station WPUL from sunrise to sunset with a power of 1,000 watts on clear channel frequency 1130. Studios, transmitter, and 190 foot tower were located along Highway 17 north of downtown Bartow.

The call letters stood for We Please U Longer, and later spawned the slogan, WPUL – The Station with Pull. The music format was MOR, but by the early/mid 70’s it had switched to country. A morning “Trading Post” buy-sell-trade call-in show was added, along with national news from the Mutual network. There were contests and special events, too, like The Gold Rush Contest, Silver Dollar Saloon, Turkey Contest, and the WPUL Ranch Party, a one-day event that pulled in as many as 5,000 area listeners.

WPUL changed hands a number of times during its years on the air. Other owners included Robert D. Morris in 1972, Mid-Florida Broadcasting (Eugene McMahon, president) in 1978, Deco Broadcasting (John Locke, president), Dave Hill, Radio Station WPUL, Inc., and Randolph A. and Robert L. Marsh. It was Locke who improved the station’s daytime facilities in 1982 by increasing the power to 2500 watts.

Tom and Susan Thornburg of WIPC in Lake Wales purchased WPUL in 1984, changed the call letters to WWBF, and switched to a light contemporary music format with heavy emphasis on local news and sports.

Other names from WPUL history include former general managers Lloyd A Scott, Jr., Leroy Bradley, Sandy Sanders, Reba Zoellner, and Haywood Henson; Other staffers: Margaret Scott (PD), Joe Trivette (sales manager), A.N. Campbell (chief engineer), Don Goolsby (PD), George Turner IV (chief engineer), Mike McCord, Roy Beymer (chief engineer), Dee Van Pelt (sales), Larry Love (news/host of “The Trading Post”), Kit Kitchens, Gene Mullins, B.J. Shores (mid-days), Bill Andrews (PD 1978-79 and host of “The Trading Post”), Ben Silver, Doc Holiday, Buck Williams, Joe Penny, Jerry Hughes (weekends), and Tommy Walker (mornings). Jackie Weeks was a receptionist who did traffic.

Station History

1969 - 1984 Other Polk County Stations (History)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2023 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.