Other Stations - Other Tampa Bay Area Stations - Who's Who - Details

WHFS AM & FM's Co-Workers

WWJB - A History
WHNZ - A History
WTMP AM & FM - A History
WBRD AM & FM - A History
WJIS - A History
WMNF - A History
WYUU - A History
WQBN - A History
WMGG AM & FM - A History
WTAN AM & FM - A History
WRXB - A History
WAMA - A History
WMTX - A History
WJQB - A History
WLLD - A History
WZHR - A History
WXYB - A History
WFTI - A History
WHPT - A History
WGES - A History
WTMY - A History
WBTP - A History
WCTQ - A History
WTIS - A History
WLCC - A History
WKZM - A History
WCIE - A History
WSMR - A History
WDDV - A History
WLSS - A History
WLTQ - A History
WSDV - A History
WSJT - A History
WSRQ - A History
WWMI - A History
WPSO AM & FM - A History
WXJB - A History
WTBN - A History
WHBO - A History
WWBA - A History
WGHR - A History
WBRN - A History
WTWD - A History
WYFE - A History
WSUN AM & FM - A History
WFLA AM & FM - A History
WDAE AM & FM - A History
WQYK AM & FM - A History
WRBQ AM & FM - A History
WGUL AM & FM - A History
Veronica Alfaro-Young
Jon Anthony
Daisy Ash
Steve Austin
Marvelous Marvin Boone
Luis Briceno
Bubba the Love Sponge
Shannon Burke
Bill Burnett
Cadillac Jack
Mike Calta
Ted Cannarozzi
Tommy Chuck
Cigar Dave
Roz Clark
Carson Cooper
Dr. Chuck Crane
Mike Culotta
Chris Curley
Kathy Curtis
Hank Dale
Orlando Davis
Jenny Dean
Ron Diaz
Mason Dixon
Nanci Donnellan
Elizabeth Dougherty
Bill Dudley
Steve Duemig
Corey Dylan
Big Ed Edwards
JR Evans
Brian Fink
Marvin Flemmings
Drew Garabo
Martin Giles
Bob Haa
Steve Hall
Jack Harris
Cedric Harris
Marc Haze
Tom Henderson
Aaron Jacobson
Cledus Judd
Jesse Kage
Al Keck
Ann Kelly
JoJo Kincaid
Kristy Knight
Craig Kopp
Ronnie "Night Train" Lane
Keith Lawless
Rob Lorei
Bruce Maduri
Danielle McBroom
Gary McHenry
Dana McKay
Dave McKay (WQYK)
Ron Michaels
Doug Miles
Jack Miller
Dave 'Flash' Morgan
Susan Nilon
Bobby Ocean
Charlie Ochs
Justin Pawloski
Ed Pendino
Bob Penrod
Neil Presant
Randy Price
Jayar Reed
Bobby Rich
Rock Riley
Dick Ring
Jay Roberts
Angelito Rodriguez
Todd Schnitt
Michael Serio
Bob Seymour
Michael Sharkey
Darek Sharp
Big Dom Siciliano
Dan Sileo
Valerie Silver
John Sipos
Paul Sliwa
Michelle Tellone
Chadd & Kristi Thomas
Nick Van Cleve
Marc Vila
David Wagenvoord
Scott Walker
Mike Waters
Tedd Webb
Joel Weiss
Jetie Wilds
Todd Wright
Randy Wynne
Dave Zeplowitz

WHFS AM & FM - A History

WHFS-AM 1010 Seffner & WHFS-FM 98.7 Holmes Beach – CBS Radio’s adult contemporary WSJT-FM flipped its format and call letters to Sports Radio 98.7 The Fan WHFS at noon on August 2, 2012, becoming Tampa Bay’s first all-sports station to broadcast on FM. One week later, sister station WQYK-AM (Sportsradio 1010) became WHFS-AM with a simulcast of the FM.

The WHFS studios were located with others in the CBS cluster at 9721 Executive Center Drive in St Petersburg. The AM’s 50-kilowatt stick is located on State Road 574 in Seffner and the FM 50-kilowatt transmitter and tower are at a site off CR 694 (Park Blvd.) in Seminole.

WHFS-FM’s inaugural lineup included: 6-10 AM Kirk and Dinger (Kirk McEwen and former Lightning player Chris Dingman), 10 AM-2 PM Gary and the "Commish'' (Justin Pawlowski and Tampa Bay Times sports columnist Gary Shelton, 2-6 PM Rich Herrera and former Buccaneer Booger McFarland, 6-10 PM Todd Wright, and 2-6 AM The Fabulous Sports Babe Nanci Donnellan. The Fan also became the flagship station for University of South Florida Bulls football. On January 2, 2013, WHFS-AM stopped simulcasting the FM and became a full-time affiliate of CBS Sports Radio.

In a multi-station swap, WHFS AM and FM were acquired by the Beasley Broadcast Group from CBS in late 2014. On Dec.4, WHFS-AM dropped its CBS Sports format and changed to a simulcast of Boca Raton sister station WSBR's MoneyTalk Radio programming as MoneyTalk 1010.  WHFS-FM also dropped is sports format and began playing Christmas music, promising a new format would debut the first of the year.

When Jan. 5, 2015 arrived, the FM premiered Tampa Bay’s return of Bubba the Love Sponge (Todd Clem) at 6 A.M. and announced that it would air continuous Bubba shows 24/7 for the next 30 days. When that month was up, Bubba made the big announcement shortly after 9am February 2nd that the station’s new format would be personality-oriented No Rules Radio, featuring the music Bubba likes, and that 98.7’s call letters would change from WHFS to WBRN-FM (Bubba Radio Network).

Bubba's station didn't last long. In early 2017, WBRN flipped its format and call letters to adult contemporary b98.7 WPBB.

Other names in WHFS history include Mike Pepper (PD-2012), Mark Calandrello (promotions-2012), Ben Hill (market manager-2012), Lynne Austin (lead reporter and female voice of 98.7 The Fan-2012), and Bubba the Love Sponge (Todd Clem, mornings 2015).

(Please contact us if you have additional information to share about WHFS.)


Station History

2012 - 2015 Other Tampa Bay Area Stations (History)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2023 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.