Other Stations - Other Tampa Bay Area Stations - Who's Who - Details

WBOY's Co-Workers

WTUN - A History
WEBK - A History
WKXY - A History
WPIN AM & FM - A History
WTRL - A History
WTMP AM & FM - A History
WDCF - A History
WIOK - A History
WDCL - A History
WPKM - A History
WTAN AM & FM - A History
WWTB - A History
WSPB AM & FM - A History
WSUN AM & FM - A History
WFLA AM & FM - A History
WHBO - A History
WALT - A History
WDAE AM & FM - A History
WTSP AM & FM - A History
Chuck Adams
Daisy Mae & Old Brother Charlie Arnett
Guy Bagli
Roger Bennett
Otis Boggs
John Bohannon
John Browning
Pat Chamburs
Marshall Cleaver
Fred Davy
Glen Dill
Scott Dilworth
Tom Dunkin
Harry Dunlap
Hampton Dunn
Frank Evans
Ruben Fabelo
Jack Faulkner
George Fee
A.G. "Tony" Fernandez
Charles Fernandez
Salty Sol Fleischman
Florida Calling
Woody Garcia
Marlen Hager
Jim Harriott
George Harvey
Paul Hayes
Bobby Hicks
Bob Hoffer
Dan Johnson
Warren Johnson
Norman Jones
Warren Kauffman
Don Kimberlin
Max Kimbrel
Jerry Krumbholz
Cuz'n Larry Lane
Bob Larkin
Sam Latimer
Ernie Lee
Louis Link
Bobby Lord
Dick Marsh
Bob Martin
E. Martin
Tom Matthews
Joe Mitchell
Spencer Mitchell
Jeff Moshier
Frank Parker
Priscilla Parker
Rich Pauley
Bill Polk
Nelson Poynter
Fran Ratteree
Paul Reynolds
Rock Robbins
Pasco Roberts
Major George Robinson
Robert Rounsaville
Dayton Saltsman
Ken Skelton
Gordon Solie
Neil Spencer
Bob Stanton
Jack Stir
Hack Swain
Jack Swift
Wes Talbot
Goldie Thompson
Walter Tison
William Wells

WBOY - A History

WBOY-AM 1470 Tarpon Springs – WBOY was a 5-kilowatt daytimer licensed to Tarpon Springs that went on the air in 1954 from studios in the WBOY Building on U.S. 19 in Clearwater. It was owned by WBOY, Inc. (Amherst H. Turner, president and GM). In 1956 the station was sold to Freede-Miller Broadcasting (Hal M. Freede, president) and became WDCL.

Other names in WBOY history include Roe P. Turner (sales manager-1953), Gail D. Griner (chief engineer-1953), Harry Jack (announcer/sales-1953), Ken Scott (1953), Eric Parker (news director-1953), Harry J. Pisapia (news director-1954), Frank Sims (PD-1954), Signe Carlson (women’s director-1954), Clarence. C. Gosey (religious director-1954), Nelson Boyce (sales manager-1955), Clair Linn (PD-1955), Vinnie Heiser (news director1955), Ted Turner (sports director-1955), Dr. Ben Gittings (farm director-1955), and Cora Woolverton (women’s director-1955). 

(Please contact us if you have additional information to share about WBOY.)

Station History

1954 - 1956 Other Tampa Bay Area Stations (History)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2023 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.