Other Stations - Other Tampa Bay Area Stations - Who's Who - Details

WEBK's Co-Workers

WTUN - A History
WKXY - A History
WPIN AM & FM - A History
WTRL - A History
WTMP AM & FM - A History
WPKM - A History
WDCF - A History
WBOY - A History
WIOK - A History
WDCL - A History
WCLE - A History
WDHL - A History
WTAN AM & FM - A History
WWTB - A History
WSPB AM & FM - A History
WSUN AM & FM - A History
WFLA AM & FM - A History
WHBO - A History
WALT - A History
WDAE AM & FM - A History
WTSP AM & FM - A History
Chuck Adams
Daisy Mae & Old Brother Charlie Arnett
Bert Arnold
Guy Bagli
Roger Bennett
Dick Bingham
Otis Boggs
John Bohannon
John Browning
Pat Chamburs
Marshall Cleaver
Roger Connell
Fred Davy
Glen Dill
Scott Dilworth
Tom Dunkin
Harry Dunlap
Hampton Dunn
Frank Evans
Ruben Fabelo
Wayne Fariss
Jack Faulkner
George Fee
A.G. "Tony" Fernandez
Charles Fernandez
Salty Sol Fleischman
Florida Calling
Woody Garcia
Marlen Hager
Jim Harriott
George Harvey
Paul Hayes
Bobby Hicks
Bob Hoffer
Dan Johnson
Warren Johnson
Norman Jones
Warren Kauffman
Don Kimberlin
Max Kimbrel
Jerry Krumbholz
Cuz'n Larry Lane
Bob Larkin
Sam Latimer
Ernie Lee
Louis Link
Bandel Linn
Bobby Lord
Dick Marsh
E. Martin
Bob Martin
Tom Matthews
Burl McCarty
Spencer Mitchell
Joe Mitchell
Jeff Moshier
Frank Parker
Priscilla Parker
Rich Pauley
Bill Polk
Nelson Poynter
Fran Ratteree
Paul Reynolds
Rock Robbins
Pasco Roberts
Major George Robinson
Robert Rounsaville
Dayton Saltsman
Drew Shankle
Ken Skelton
Gordon Solie
Neil Spencer
Bob Stanton
Bill Steis
Jack Stir
Hack Swain
Jack Swift
Wes Talbot
Goldie Thompson
Walter Tison
William Wells

WEBK - A History

WEBK-AM 1590 Tampa – Tampa’s WEBK operated from offices and studios at 1521 E. Broadway in Ybor City, and was owned by Hillsboro Broadcasting Company (attorney E.P. Martin, president; Mrs. Alpha Martin, vice-president and women’s director; and Elmo B. Kitts, GM/chief engineer). The call letters represented the initials of co-owner Kitts. When the one kilowatt daytimer signed on the air in 1950, it was licensed for broadcast on 1590kc. However, in 1956, the FCC allowed it to move to 1300kc.

WEBK’s chief announcer in 1950 was Tampa native Wayne Fariss who, in 1955, became the first news anchor for WTVT when Channel 13 signed on the air. It was he who first hired Gordon Solie fresh out of the military to host a rhythm & blues show and, eventually, his own sports interview show.

During its relatively short time on the air, WEBK was the first Tampa Bay area station to broadcast a local talk show devoted to community issues and jazz music of interest to the black community – a weekly 15-minute program in the early 1950’s hosted by Tampa-area activist and journalist Norman E. Jones.

In 1956 WEBK was sold to Walter Tison and the calls changed to WWTB (W. Walter Tison Broadcasting).  Its original 1590 dial position was re-licensed to St. Pete Beach and became WILZ.

Other names from WEBK’s history include: George Allen (1950), Ann Bowman (PD-1951), Angelo Fazzari (chief engineer-1951), Bob Martin (PD-1952), Jimmy Willson (news director-1952), Larry Lane (1954), Bob Chambers (PD & news director-1954), John Sanders (sales manager-1955), Ronald Harpe (PD-1956), Scott Dilworth (news director-1956), Chaz Roye, and Joe E. Brown (not the famous 1930’s actor).

(Please contact us if you have additional information to share about WEBK.)

Station History

1950 - 1956 Other Tampa Bay Area Stations (History)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2023 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.