Other Stations - Other Central Florida Stations - Who's Who - Details

WBIL's Co-Workers

WLOF - A History
WJCM - A History
WAPG - A History
WAUC - A History
WSEB AM & FM - A History
WPRV - A History
WWKE - A History
WSLC - A History
WHOO AM & FM - A History
WDBO AM & FM - A History
Bill Andrews
Bob Andrews
Otis Boggs
Joseph Brechner
Dick Camnitz
Charlie Champion
Bill Clifford
Paul Delaney
Mickie Evans
Larry Flegle
Ron Fraiser
Chuck Grant
Bob Hauck
Cal Hendricks
Bob Keith
Garvis Kincaid
Al Lee
Ernie Legge
Billy Love
Duane McConnell
Philip Nesbitt
Paul Harvey News
Art Reuben
Rock Robinson
Marv Rothschild
John Rutledge
Gary Schaffer
Lee Simms
John Thacker
The Breakfast Club
Bill Vermillion
Dick Wilson
Dennis Winslow
Terry Wood
John Wright

WBIL - A History

WBIL-AM 1410 Leesburg – WBIL signed on the air in 1957 on 1410 kHz and programmed a pop music format.  It was a one kilowatt daytimer nicknamed “Mr. Bil,” and owned by WBIL, Inc. (Duane F. McConnell GM/chief engineer, who had put Lakeland’s WONN on the air in 1949, and Clyde T. Hodgson-sales manager). 

An office and studio building, housing the transmitter and control room, a studio, reception room, and a couple of other offices, was built in a swampy area west of Leesburg on Corley Island Road. McConnell described it as “crowded, but adequate.” Although the equipment was second hand, it all worked fine.

In 1960, WBIL was sold to Thompson K. Cassell who, three years later, received a CP to boost power to 5,000 watts. That same year, the station became an affiliate of the ABC radio network.

WBIL was sold to Alpha B. Martin in 1965 and became WZST shortly thereafter.

Other names in WBIL history include Jay Shepard (PD-1958), Ray Baxter (news-1958), Tom Dell (sales-1958), Herb Stoer (programming/sales-1958; news director-1960), Robert S. Norris (GM-1960), Richard Smith (operations director-1960), Dick Stambaugh (PD-1960), Dan Huth (1960), Stan Grams (1960), Allan Sheftall (station manager-1961), Allan White (sales manager-1961), Brian Tolby (PD-1961), Don Hancock (promotions-1961), Lee Williams (news director-1961), Wayne Scott (chief engineer-1961), Richard D. Lundy (GM-1963), Donald A. Kellogg (sales manager-1963), Robert E. Giannini (PD-1963), Olga Pina (traffic manager-1963), Norma Hendricks (news director-1963), Porter R. Stone (chief engineer-1963), Jim Sharp (sales manager-1964), Gale Brooks (PD-1964), Bob Andrews (chief engineer-1964), Bruce Hamilton (sales manager-1965), Elmo B. Kitts (GM/chief engineer-1966), Wayne Robinson (sales manager-1966), Red Wright (PD-1966), and Eunice Lorennz (news director-1966).

Station History

1957 - 1966 Other Central Florida Stations (History)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2018 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.