Other Stations - Other Central Florida Stations - Who's Who - Details

WAUC's Co-Workers

WLOF - A History
WJCM - A History
WITS - A History
WWTK - A History
WWLL - A History
WAPR - A History
WAPG - A History
WFLN - A History
WSEB AM & FM - A History
WZSP - A History
WYMR - A History
WAVP - A History
WFHT - A History
WZZS - A History
WOKD AM & FM - A History
WZTK - A History
WPRV - A History
WKHF - A History
WKGF AM & FM - A History
WXKT - A History
WSKP - A History
WWRZ - A History
WJFH - A History
WANZ - A History
WCAC - A History
WWOJ - A History
WDBO AM & FM - A History
WBIL - A History
WWKE - A History
WSLC - A History
WHOO AM & FM - A History
Mac Allen
Bill Andrews
Bob Andrews
Bob Baker
Gary Ballinger
Officer Jim Bishop
Otis Boggs
Joseph Brechner
Al Brock
Charles Burkhart
Dick Camnitz
Charlie Champion
Stacy Clark
Bill Clifford
Larry Cox
Harry Cup
Mac Curtis
Clay Daniels
Paul Delaney
John Dolive
Joe Donelan
Al Dunaway
Jim Eshleman
Larry Flegle
Barry Foster
Ron Fraiser
Tom Graddy
Chuck Grant
Bob Hauck
Mike Helminski
Cal Hendricks
Les Howard
George Kalman
Bob Keith
Tom Kennington
Garvis Kincaid
Hal Kneller
Jim Kowalski
Jay Kuppers
Al Lee
Ernie Legge
Billy Love
Bruce Maduri
Jim Maloy
Duane McConnell
John Meder
Barry Michaels
Philip Nesbitt
Ron Nickell
Dave Onsted
Paul Harvey News
Pete Porter
Art Reuben
Rick Richards
Rock Robinson
Marv Rothschild
John Rutledge
Gary Schaffer
Dick Shiflett
Lee Simms
Marsha Taylor
Sal Tee
John Thacker
The Breakfast Club
Jim Turner
Bill Vermillion
Gene Waite
James Wayman
Dick Wilson
Dennis Winslow
Chris Wolf
Terry Wood
Woody Wooden
John Wright

WAUC - A History

WAUC-AM 1310 Wauchula – Hardee Broadcasting Co. (Robert S. Taylor & E.D. “Ted” Covington, Jr.) put WAUChula 500-watt daytimer WAUC on the air in 1958. Offices and studios were located at the transmitter site at 1310 South Florida Avenue (SR 35A). Daytime power was upgraded to 5,000 watts around 1980 and authority given to operate at night with 500 watts around 1988.

Other WAUC owners were WAUC Broadcasting Co. (Royce D. Plummer, president 1964), Wauchula Broadcasting (1969), Barco, Inc. (Richard Rosenberger, president 1973), Poucher Broadcasting, Inc. (Donald W. Poucher, president-1977), Heartland Broadcasting Co. (Jesse Newman, president-1983), WAUC Radio (Ted L. Hite, president-1986), and Marlene Ayala (1993).

In 1997, Dora A. Cruz (Marvina Enterprises since 2001) acquired WAUC and began airing a Spanish format from its three-tower transmitter site on South Florida Avenue in Wauchula. john Mullis flipped the station to a country format, Heartland Country Favorites, when his Hardee Broadcasting, LLC took over the station in March 2017.  

Other names from WAUC history include: Claude White (GM-1958), Robert Ford (chief engineer-1958), Bill Ferguson (GM/chief engineer-1959), Robert V. Rogers (GM-1964), Chris Plummer (afternoons-1965), Sara Plummer (promotions-1965), Samuel L. Rosenberger (GM-1974), Jerald A. Brush (PD/chief engineer-1972), Donald Poucher (GM-1977), Carol Poucher (PD/music director-1977; station manager-1978), James A. Hardman (GM/sales manager-1985), Marc Valureo (PD-1985), Clinton Moore (chief engineer-1985), Ted L. Hite (GM/sales manager-1987), Ted Hite, Jr. (PD/news director-1987; news director-1990; operations-1992), John McShaffrey (music director-1987), Jean Hite (promotions-1987), Jim Kowalski (chief engineer-1987), Chay Gonzales (GM-1994), Robert Ayala (GM-1995), Victor Gonzales (GM-2001), Merta Ayala (GM-2002), Arturo Pacheco (2007), Bob Partee, and John Wright.

(Please contact us if you have additional information to share about WAUC.)


Station History

1958 - 2018 Other Central Florida Stations (History)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2019 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.