Other Stations - Other Central Florida Stations - Who's Who - Details

WAPG's Co-Workers

WLOF - A History
WJCM - A History
WITS - A History
WWTK - A History
WAPR - A History
WAUC - A History
WSEB AM & FM - A History
WOKD AM & FM - A History
WPRV - A History
WXKT - A History
WSKP - A History
WWOJ - A History
WDBO AM & FM - A History
WBIL - A History
WWKE - A History
WSLC - A History
WHOO AM & FM - A History
WANZ - A History
WCAC - A History
Mac Allen
Bill Andrews
Bob Andrews
Bob Baker
Officer Jim Bishop
Otis Boggs
Joseph Brechner
Al Brock
Charles Burkhart
Dick Camnitz
Charlie Champion
Bill Clifford
Larry Cox
Harry Cup
Mac Curtis
Clay Daniels
Paul Delaney
John Dolive
Al Dunaway
Jim Eshleman
Mickie Evans
Larry Flegle
Barry Foster
Ron Fraiser
Tom Graddy
Chuck Grant
Bob Hauck
Mike Helminski
Cal Hendricks
Bob Keith
Tom Kennington
Garvis Kincaid
Jim Kowalski
Jay Kuppers
Al Lee
Ernie Legge
Billy Love
Jim Maloy
Duane McConnell
John Meder
Barry Michaels
Philip Nesbitt
Ron Nickell
Paul Harvey News
Pete Porter
Art Reuben
Rock Robinson
Marv Rothschild
John Rutledge
Clyde Sanders
Gary Schaffer
Dick Shiflett
Lee Simms
Marsha Taylor
Sal Tee
John Thacker
The Breakfast Club
Jim Turner
Bill Vermillion
Gene Waite
James Wayman
Dick Wilson
Dennis Winslow
Chris Wolf
Terry Wood
Woody Wooden
John Wright

WAPG - A History

WAPG-AM 1480 Arcadia – WAPG (Arcadia-Punta Gorda) was originally a one kilowatt daytimer licensed to Arcadia in DeSoto County, and put on the air in 1955 by Arcadia-Punta Gorda Broadcasting Company (H.F. McGee, president). Other owners included Arcadia-Punta Gorda Broadcasting Co. Inc. (H.D. Ryals, president-1959), Dakos Broadcasting, Inc. (William Dakos, president-1981), and Gulf Dunes Broadcasting, Inc. (Dennis Hedlund, president-1989).

During its 35 years on the air, WAPG’s formats included country, Top 40, and religion. The station became WOKD in 1990.  

Names from WAPG history include: Martin J. Begley, Jr. (GM, PD, chief engineer-1956), G. Kelley Lyons (sales manager-1956), Jack Chambers (news director-1956), Philip Hull (1956), Adelia Robertson (1956), Jim Derrick (GM-1957), Charles Bruce (1957), Paul Howell (GM, chief engineer-1958), W.W. Benton (GM-1959), Bert Erickson (GM/PD/promotions-1959; news director-1974), Richard Cobb (farm director-1959), Mary B. Anderson (women’s director-1959), Larry Flegle (1964), Frank G. “Skip” West (1964-65), Tim Taylor (1970-71), Murray Benton (GM/music director/promotions/chief engineer-1974; president of Arcadia-Punta Gorda Broadcasting-1975), Ruth Benton (sales manager/PD-1974), Bert Erickson (news director-1974), Jim Vaughn (sales manager-1975), Charles Charlie B Burkhart (music director-1975), Helen Toll (sales manager-1977), Dixie Dakos (GM-1981), Karl August (PD-1983), Jack Welch (GM-1990), Tim Shannon (PD-1990), Suzanne Whitman (sales manager-1990), Mike Dawsey, Terry Yagel, Eddie Apadoca, Haywood Mercer, Louella Whidden Hollingsworth, Jerald Newberry, Gene Thompson, Bob Cannon, Julius Moore, Bill Purcell, Donnie Mays, and Kurt Mays.

(Please contract us if you have additional information to share about WAPG.)

Station History

1955 - 1990 Other Central Florida Stations (History)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2019 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.