Other Stations - Other Tampa Bay Area Stations - Who's Who - Details

Jim's Co-Workers

WYND - A History
WWBA AM & FM - A History
WWJB - A History
WKXY - A History
WPIN AM & FM - A History
WAZE - A History
WTRL - A History
WTMP AM & FM - A History
WPAS - A History
WBRD AM & FM - A History
WPKM - A History
WDCF - A History
WILZ - A History
WSOL - A History
WTAN AM & FM - A History
WUSF - A History
WGNB AM & FM - A History
WGNP - A History
WTCX - A History
WQXM - A History
WSAF AM & FM - A History
WYAK - A History
WAMR AM & FM - A History
WATL - A History
WSPB AM & FM - A History
WGUL AM & FM - A History
WLCY AM & FM - A History
WSUN AM & FM - A History
WFLA AM & FM - A History
WINQ - A History
WHBO - A History
WALT - A History
WDAE AM & FM - A History
WYOU - A History
WFSO - A History
WCWR - A History
Chuck Adams
David Albright
John Alexander
Chuck Alton
Daisy Mae & Old Brother Charlie Arnett
Beryl Beckett
Dick Blanchard
Jack Bland
Otis Boggs
Jim Boynton
Hugh Brown
Charlie Brown
Irwin Brown
Johnny Byrd
Gil Cabot
Murray Carpenter
Terry Casey
Brooke Chamberlain
Pat Chamburs
Bob Clark
Marshall Cleaver
Bob Collins
Dwight Cook
Rick Crandall
Dennis Crandall
Dick Crippen
Joe Culbreath
Eugene Danzey
Johnny Dark
Glen Dill
Tom Drane
Dean Drapin
Bill Dudley
Larry Elliston
JR Evans
Scott Farrell
Jack Faulkner
George Fee
A.G. "Tony" Fernandez
Charles Fernandez
Bonita Fishback
Bill Floyd
Al Ford
Trooper Jim Foster
Steve Fredericks
Al Gale
Woody Garcia
Carl Glicken
Jerry Good
Joe Gratz
Dottie Groven
Marlen Hager
Chuck Harder
Dave Harrell
Ken Hart
George Harvey
Rick Hatfield
Paul Hayes
Vinnie Heiser
Glen Hill
Allan Hollar
Herb Hunt
Bill Jacobs
Dan Johnson
Jim Johnson (WHBO)
Jack Kane
Warren Kauffman
Karol Kelly
Cuz'n Larry Lane
Sam Latimer
Clair Linn
Bob Mackey
Dick Marsh
Beecher Martin
Bob Martin
Burl McCarty
Mark McGee
Gerald McGougan
Gene McKay
Ron McKenney
John Meder
Mike Moore
Rick Morgan
Hal Murray
Robert Nelson
Bobby Nelson
Gerald Newton
Terry Nichols
Roy Nilson
Joe O'Grady
Don Owens
Scott Owens
Priscilla Parker
Frank Parker
Ed Pendino
Mel Phillips
Bill Polk
Jon Powers
George Prescott
Ed Pyle
Rex Rand
Marv Ray
Ken Reitz
Art Reuben
Ed Ripley
J. Paul Robinson
Gene Allen Robinson
John Rode
Robert Rounsaville
Bob Ruark
Daylon Rushing
Harvey Sheldon
Cal Shrum
Gordon Solie
Jim Stanley
Jack Stir
Bob Stone
Bill Swisher
Goldie Thompson
Mel Tinney
Tim Trott
Larry Vance
Bob Vaughn
Tony Vigue
Jim Walter
Al Waters
James Wayman
Tedd Webb
Jack Weldon
Mark Wheeler
Herold White
Dick Whiting
Dick Wilson
Bill Winters
John Wright

Jim West

During his high school years, Illinois native Jim West was president of the student body at New Port Richey’s Gulf High School and began his radio career in 1966 as an announcer for WGUL. After graduation in 1968, he returned to his native state to attend Wheaton College and worked as a staff announcer at the college station. The following year he returned to Tampa Bay and enrolled at Trinity College in Dunedin.

Jim received his B.A. in history/religion/psychology at Palm Beach Atlantic College in West Palm Beach and his M.Div. in theology at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, Kentucky. In 1977, he joined the news staff of Tampa’s WTVT Channel 13 as a reporter/anchor. By 1983, he had moved up to news operations coordinator and then news director in 1984. After 12 years in the Channel 13 newsroom, he left in 1989 and formed West & Associates, a communications/news consulting firm and video/television producer.

The 90’s were busy years for Jim. He was president of The Christian Network and co-founder (with Bud Paxson) of The Worship Network (1991-1993). He assisted in the startup of Dominion Sky Angel DBS and a second network, Praise TV (1993-1997), and was founder and president of The Open Christian University Network, The Didache Network, and FaithTV (1997-2001).

In 2001, Jim became president of FaithTV, a national faith and family programming network seen in 15-million households through some 50 broadcast affiliates, a growing number of IPTV outlets and nationwide on the Sky Angel DBS platform. He has won numerous awards over the years, including Tampa Toastmasters’ “Communicator of the Year” in 1984, the Fulton J. Sheen “Angel” Award (Wednesday’s Child) in 1985, and Regional RTNDA Continuing Coverage awards in 1986 for Hurricane Elena and the Challenger explosion.


Station History

1966 - 1968 Other Tampa Bay Area Stations (News)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2022 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.