Other Stations - Other Tampa Bay Area Stations - Who's Who - Details

WSRQ's Co-Workers

WFLZ - A History
WWJB - A History
WHNZ - A History
WBRD AM & FM - A History
WTMP AM & FM - A History
WJIS - A History
WMNF - A History
WDCF - A History
WENG - A History
WWRM - A History
WYUU - A History
WBVM - A History
WKES - A History
WMGG AM & FM - A History
WQBN - A History
WTAN AM & FM - A History
WPOI - A History
WUSF - A History
WRXB - A History
WFUS - A History
WPSO AM & FM - A History
WAMA - A History
WMTX - A History
WJQB - A History
WLLD - A History
WSRZ AM & FM - A History
WZHR - A History
WXYB - A History
WFTI - A History
WHPT - A History
WGES - A History
WTMY - A History
WBTP - A History
WBZZ - A History
WCTQ - A History
WXGL - A History
WSDV - A History
WSJT - A History
WWMI - A History
WWPR - A History
WTIS - A History
WIBQ - A History
WLCC - A History
WKZM - A History
WCIE - A History
WSMR - A History
WDDV - A History
WLSS - A History
WLTQ - A History
WXJB - A History
WRMD - A History
WTBN - A History
WHBO - A History
WWBA - A History
WTWD - A History
WSEB - A History
WTZB - A History
WYFE - A History
WHFS AM & FM - A History
WDUV - A History
WXTB - A History
WGUL AM & FM - A History
WSUN AM & FM - A History
WFLA AM & FM - A History
WDAE AM & FM - A History
WQYK AM & FM - A History
WRBQ AM & FM - A History
Nancy Alexander
Veronica Alfaro-Young
Jon Anthony
Alan Archer
Daisy Ash
Steve Austin
Bob Barnes
Allison Barnett
Mark Beiro
Mel Berman
Ken Birdsong
Marvelous Marvin Boone
Scot Brantley
Luis Briceno
Chad Brock
Carmen Brown
Eben Brown
Shannon Burke
Gordon Byrd
Mike Calta
Jim Campbell
Bill Carl
Dave Cash
Laura Chase
Glenn Cherry
Tommy Chuck
Rita Ciccarello
Cigar Dave
Roz Clark
Todd Clem
Bill Connolly
Carson Cooper
Lee Courtney
Dr. Chuck Crane
Art Cronk
Nikki Cruz
Mike Culotta
Kathy Curtis
Hank Dale
Jenny Dean
Dan DiLoreto
Mason Dixon
Nanci Donnellan
Elizabeth Dougherty
Bill Dudley
Steve Duemig
Corey Dylan
Ed Edwards
Bill Elliott
JR Evans
Wayne Facyson
Marvin Flemmings
Olivia Fox
Russell Gant
Drew Garabo
Pat George
Martin Giles
Susan Giles-Wantuck
Ronald Gordon
Bob Haa
Norm Hale
Steve Hall
Cedric Harris
Marc Haze
Tom Henderson
Gabe Hobbs
Allan Hollar
James Howard
Dianne Hughes
Mark Jackson
Ralph Janotti
Maverick Johnson
Whitney Johnson
Cledus Judd
Jesse Kage
Ted Kamikaze
Jeff Kapugi
Alicia Kaye
Al Keck
Ann Kelly
JoJo Kincaid
Carrie Kirkland
Kristy Knight
Craig Kopp
Leslee Lacey
Shayna Lance
Ronnie Lane
Mark Larsen
Keith Lawless
Scott Ledger
Adam Lindemann
Gene Lindsey
Rob Lorei
Bruce Maduri
Skip Mahaffey
Steve Manuel
Carl Marcocci
Walt Marsicano
Beecher Martin
Tom Martinkovic a.k.a. Bobby Ocean
Danielle McBroom
Dave McClure
Les McDowell
Gary McHenry
Dana McKay
Dave McKay (WQYK)
Steve Michaels
Ron Michaels
Doug Miles
Jack Miller
Karl Moore
Dave Morgan
John Morris
Amy Newman
Susan Nilon
George Nix
Charlie Ochs
Mike Oliviero
Paul Harvey News
Justin Pawloski
Ed Pendino
Bob Penrod
Carlos Jose Peralta
Mitch Perry
JP Peterson
Paul Porter
Neil Presant
Randy Price
Jim Quin
Drew Rashbaum
Jayar Reed
Mike Reeves
Dave Reinhart
Bobby Rich
Don Richards
Michael Ricker
Rock Riley
Dick Ring
Ed Ripley
Jay Roberts
Angelito Rodriguez
Steve Sande
Nick Sanders
Vicki Santa
Al Santana
Todd Schnitt
Roger Schulman
Stephen Seravalli
Michael Serio
Bob Seymour
Michael Sharkey
Darek Sharp
Hank Shaw
Ron Shepard
Big Dom Siciliano
Dan Sileo
Valerie Silver
John Sipos
Paul Sliwa
Annie Sommers
John Stortz
Vic Swan
Sharon Taylor
Michelle Tellone
The SportsChix
Chadd & Kristi Thomas
Allyson Turner
Nick Van Cleve
Marc Vila
David Wagenvoord
JoJo Walker
Scott Walker
Mike Waters
Tedd Webb
Robert Weeks
Joel Weiss
Tim White
Jetie Wilds
Alan Winfield
Todd Wright
Randy Wynne
Dave Zeplowitz

WSRQ - A History

WSRQ-AM 1220 Sarasota – SRQ Radio LLC (Don Murphy, president) acquired Nova Broadcasting’s WIBQ in 2006 and flipped its calls to WSRQ (SRQ stands for the three-letter IATA designating code for Sarasota-Bradenton International Airport) in early 2007. The one-kilowatt AM programmed a news/talk and sports format.

WSRQ began simulcasting its programming via an FM translator on 106.9 in the fall of 2009, which enabled it to reach a larger coverage area along Florida’s Suncoast.

In 2011, the station’s tower site relocated from Birky Street, near Beneva Road and Bahia Vista, to a new directional two-tower array off Palmer Boulevard, west of Debrecen Road.  That same year, WSRQ was acquired by Florida Talk Radio LLC, a management/ownership group established by Lauren Rudd, Susan Nilon (GM and co-host of “Sarasota Talks”), Jim Lampl and Kent Kirschner. In 2012, offices and studios moved from 2127 Ringling Boulevard in Sarasota to 1100 S. Tamiami Trail.

Today (2012), WSRQ airs programs from syndicated talkers Don Imus, Laura Ingraham, Clark Howard, and Dennis Miller, in addition to a number of locally-produced talk and informational shows. The schedule also includes Tampa Bay Rays baseball, Tampa Bay Lightning hockey games, as well as USF Bulls and NFL gridiron action. Plus, on Sunday nights, three hours are devoted to Old Time Radio shows.

Other names in WSRQ history include Doug Miles (station manager, host/producer of the "Suncoast Magazine" and "Big Band Files," news/sports director/play-by-play 2007-2008), James Grady (GM-2008), Bob Biermann (chief engineer/station manager 2008/2009), Lisa Murphy (PD-2009), Kathy Schille (sales-2010), Matt Bruce (host of “Suncoast Morning News”), and Steve Huggins (PD-2011).

(Please contact us if you have additional information to share about WSRQ.)




Station History

2006 - 2012 Other Tampa Bay Area Stations (History)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2017 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.