Other Stations - Other Tampa Bay Area Stations - Who's Who - Details

Ray's Co-Workers

WWJB - A History
WQSR - A History
WYND - A History
WWBA AM & FM - A History
WKXY - A History
WAZE - A History
WTRL - A History
WTMP AM & FM - A History
WPAS - A History
WBRD AM & FM - A History
WPLP - A History
WPKM - A History
WMNF - A History
WDCF - A History
WTYM - A History
WDCL - A History
WILZ - A History
WXCR - A History
WKES - A History
WNSI - A History
WSOL - A History
WWQT - A History
WTAN AM & FM - A History
WUSF - A History
WRXB - A History
WPSO AM & FM - A History
WAMA - A History
WCBF - A History
WQXM - A History
WMLO - A History
WGNB AM & FM - A History
WHBS - A History
WSST - A History
WVTY AM & FM - A History
WMGG - A History
WAVE - A History
WKZM - A History
WTIS - A History
WSRZ - A History
WGNP - A History
WOKF - A History
WSAF AM & FM - A History
WWZZ - A History
WZNE - A History
WTCX - A History
WRAV - A History
WCKX - A History
WAVV - A History
WWLF - A History
WJYW - A History
WIQI - A History
WAMR AM & FM - A History
WFNN - A History
WOFN - A History
WEZX - A History
WLFW - A History
WOJC - A History
WSPB AM & FM - A History
WGUL AM & FM - A History
WDUV - A History
WLCY AM & FM - A History
WQSA - A History
WYNF - A History
WSUN AM & FM - A History
WFLA AM & FM - A History
WINQ - A History
WHBO - A History
WALT - A History
WDAE AM & FM - A History
WYOU - A History
WQYK AM & FM - A History
WRBQ AM & FM - A History
WFSO - A History
WCWR - A History
Chuck Adams
Brent Alberts
Russ Albums
Steve Alexander
John Alexander
Russ Altizer
Chuck Alton
Voncile Anderson
Larry Anderson
John Anthony
Tom Anthony
Alan Archer
Lee Arnold
Brad Baad
Dave Banks
Bob Barnes
Denny Bateman
Chuck Bear
Beryl Beckett
Don Beckman
Joe Bell
Mel Berman
Frank Berry
Al Blake
Neil Bob
Roy Bodden
Otis Boggs
Diane Bonilla
Marvelous Marvin Boone
Jim Boynton
Don Brady
Jim Brand
Al Brock
Pat Brooks
Charlie Brown
Hugh Brown
Steve Burgess
Bill Burnett
Bill Burns
Burt & Kurt
Shirley Buss
Johnny Byrd
Gordon Byrd
Bill Calder
Peter Callahan
Bill Campbell
Dave Campbell
Bob Campo
Don Capone
Kevin Card
Murray Carpenter
Terry Casey
Pat Chamburs
Mark Champion
Charlie Champion
Steve Cheney
Rita Ciccarello
Roz Clark
Bob Clark
Marshall Cleaver
Don Coe
Tim Coles
Rick Collins
Bill Connolly
Dwight Cook
Carson Cooper
Ken Copper
Al Corbett
Duane Cornett
Todd Cralley
Rick Crandall
Dennis Crandall
Mike Creager
Lary Crews
Dick Crippen
Joe Culbreath
John Dalton
Eugene Danzey
Tom Daren
Tim Davisson
Arch Deal
Bob Dearborn
Bob DeCarlo
Gene Deckerhoff
John DeHaven
Paul Delaney
Scott Dennis
Glen Dill
Mason Dixon
Nanci Donnellan
Tom Drane
Dean Drapin
Bill Dudley
Al Dunaway
John Eastman
Ronald Ebben
Bill Elliott
Larry Elliston
JR Evans
Scott Farrell
Jack Faulkner
George Fee
A.G. "Tony" Fernandez
Charlie Fernandez
Charles Fernandez
Frank Ferreri
Jack Fichter
Joseph Field, Jr.
Reggie Fine
Larry Flegle
Marvin Flemmings
Valorie Flowers
Bill Floyd
Les Foerster
Al Ford
Trooper Jim Foster
David Fowler
George Gainey
Al Gale
Bill Gamble
Russell Gant
Woody Garcia
Jim Genovese
Pat George
David Gold
Paul Gonzalez
Jerry Good
Dan Grant
Joe Gratz
Scott Griffith
Dottie Groven
Marlen Hager
Joe Hager
Norm Hale
Sandy Hall
Chuck Harder
Dave Harrell
Jack Harris
Spyder Harrison
Ken Hart
George Harvey
Charles Hasbrouck
Rick Hatfield
Tom Henderson
Bill Hennes
Mike Hennessy
Robert Hensler
Howard Hewes
Downey Hewey
Don Hibbitts
Bob Higby
Glen Hill
Chris Holiday
Allan Hollar
Les Howard
Bob Hughes
Herb Hunt
Steve Huntington
Bill Jacobs
Peter Jahns
Brad James
Chris James
Ralph Janotti
Greg Jarrett
Joey Jay
Bill Jenkins
Dan Johnson
Ralph Johnson
Jim Johnson (WHBO)
Jim Johnson (WQXM)
Warren Kauffman
Marc Kaye
Gary Kines
Gary Knight
David (Kidd) Kraddick
Wayne Kysor
Kenny Lamb
John Lander
John Lanigan
Mark Larsen
Sam Latimer
Tom Latto
Jeff Laurence
George Laurie
Clair Linn
Pepper Lipsync
Charlie Logan
Jim Lord
Rob Lorei
George Lowe
Mike Lusk
Mike Lyons
Charlie Mack
Kevin MacKenzie
Bob Mackey
Stan Major
Jim Maloy
Steve Manuel
Carl Marcocci
Dick Marsh
Walt Marsicano
Beecher Martin
Bob Martin
Burl McCarty
Sam McClelland
Terry McElhatton
Mark McGee
Gerald McGougan
George McGovern
Gary McHenry
Pat McKay
Bob McKay
Dave McKay (WWBA)
Terrance McKeever
Ron McKenney
Ed McMann
Randy Michaels
Steve Michaels
Jeff Miller
Dangerous Dan Miller
Art Millman
John Moore
Mike Moore
Brad Moore
Roosevelt Moore, Jr.
Rick Morgan
Tom Murphy
Kevin Murphy
Hal Murray
Bob Neil
Robert Nelson
Bobby Nelson
Jim Nettleton
Gerald Newton
Terry Nichols
Roy Nilson
George Nix
Joe O'Grady
Bobby Ocean
Russ Offenbach
Michael Osterhout
Judd Otis
Scott Owens
Priscilla Parker
Ron Parker
Frank Parker
John Parker
Joe Patrick
Ed Pendino
Bob Penrod
Carlos Jose Peralta
Jon Pinch
Bill Polk
Jon Powers
Randy Price
Ed Pyle
Q Morning Zoo
Jim Quin
Gus Quintero
Rex Rand
Chris Rathaus
Paul Resnik
Art Reuben
RJ Reynolds
Bobby Rich
Liz Richards
Don Richards
Dick Ring
Ed Ripley
Scott Robbins
Jay Roberts
J. Paul Robinson
Gene Allen Robinson
Ted Rogers
Neil Rogers
Jeff Rogo
Art Ross
Robert Rounsaville
Marshall Rowland
Robert Rowland
Bob Ruark
Daylon Rushing
Tim Ruskell
John Rutledge
Jeff Ryan
Craig Sager
Dave Saint
Rick Samples
Nikki Sandler
Roger Schulman
Bob Schuman
Ron Scott
Glen Scott
Sue Scott
Michael Serio
Bob Seymour
Jim Shafer
Scott Shannon
Hank Shaw
Harvey Sheldon
Alvis Sherouse
Jim Shirah
Cal Shrum
John Sipos
Paul Sliwa
Rob Snowden
Gordon Solie
Chary Southmayd
Michael Spears
Roy Speer
John St. John
Jim Stanley
Dr. Chuck Stevens
Shauna Stevens
Greg Stevens
Bob Stone
Rick Stone
John Stortz
Carl Strandell
Bob Stroud
Bill Swisher
Chris Taylor
Myron Hieronymous Thomas
Goldie Thompson
Jim Thurman, Jr.
Mel Tinney
Bob Tracy
Tim Trott
Nick Van Cleve
JoJo Walker
Jerry Walker
Uncle Johnny Walker
Rusty Walker
Don Wallis
Jim Walter
Scott Walterman
Steve Warren
James Wayman
Tedd Webb
Mike Weber
Robert Weeks
Jack Weldon
Rod Weller
Brock Whaley
Cleveland Wheeler
Mark Wheeler
Rob Whitehurst
Early Williams
Art Williams
Ed Winton
Russ Wittberger
Chris Wolf
John Wright

Ray Webb

Ray was originally from Iowa and moved to Dade City in 1969 as a co-owner of WDCF (with city commissioner R. Duane Anderson). He also owned and operated a newspaper, the Dade City Banner, later re-named Pasco East and then Pasco News. Before selling it to an Ohio company in 1973, he had expanded the paper from a weekly to one that was published five times a week. He was also civic minded and served on the committee responsible for the establishment of Pasco-Hernando Community College in 1972.

Never one to shy away from controversy, he is most remembered for challenging Dade City’s power structure in the early 1970’s when those who ran the town referred to him as an “outside agitator.” He also ran into problems with the law after being charged with receiving stolen radio equipment in connection with a theft from a rival station; however, those charges were dismissed (charges that Webb called “a pack of lies”) when the judge ruled that the statute of limitations had expired.

Ray moved to California in the early 90’s where he owned and operated another AM station and built KVVT-TV (now KHIZ-TV) in Victorville. While on the west coast, he became one of the founders (with actor Pat Buttram who conceived the idea) of the Golden Boot Award to benefit the Motion Picture Home for retired actors in Woodland Hills.

In the late 90’s he returned to Florida and settled in Brooksville. On April 15, 2008, Ray passed away from injuries suffered after being struck by a boat trailer in a Tampa parking lot. He was 72.

Station History

1969 - 1984 Other Tampa Bay Area Stations (Management)

Home | WPLA | WONN | WLAK | Other Stations | Related Links | Contact Us

© 2022 RadioYears.com All rights reserved.
Built by fusionZONE, Inc.